It Was Super

So, last night was the single most watched sporting event in the world. Of course I’m talking about the Super Bowl. It was a great game with Pittsburgh marching down the field with just two minutes to go to take the final lead. I was rooting for Arizona, as well as was most of the fans in the VFW where my Wife, Mother, Brother, Sister-In-Law and I were watching the game. My Uncle Jim rents the place every year for his friends, family and patrons of his bar, The Butler Inn. Its always a great time with lots of food, alcohol and prizes.

I wanted Arizona to win, mainly because they where the underdog. I always seem to want the team everyone has counted out to win. I would have liked to see Edge get a real ring of his own. Plus, I really don’t like the Steelers.

The commercials were pretty good. Not as good as some in the past, but several made me laugh. The Budweiser ones with the Clydesdales are always good. The E*TRADE baby is funny too. I was disappointed with the 3-D ads. If you missed them, there were three ads right after the second half. First was for the Dreamworks movie Monsters vs. Aliens. The second was a sequel to last years Sobe lizard Super Bowl commercial. And the third was for NBC’s primetime show Chuck. The commercials themselves weren’t that bad. The Sobe lizards crack me up, and Monsters vs. Aliens looks to be very funny. But the 3-D part just didn’t amaze me. They were hyping them up for a while now and it just seemed to be “blah” to me. The National Anthem was great. Jennifer Hudson did an awesome job, probably the best I’ve heard in a long while. Click here if you missed it. The half-time show was ok, I guess. Im not a fan of Bruce Springsteen, so I didn’t know the songs. Everyone in Tampa seemed to like it so it must have been good.

All-in-all it was a great night of football and fun. But, it was expecially nice last night because my Wife and I won a raffle for a 42″ LCD Flat Panel TV. My Uncle buys two or three for everyone to watch during the game and then raffles them off for the winners to take home that night. We usually do a raffle here or there, but never really win. So, it was a fantastic surprise when they said we won.

~ by Chris on February 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
