Really Microsoft….Really?!?

Since the release of the Apple iPod many knock-off versions have been made by various companies. The only one that can even be compared is Microsoft’s Zune. Apple has had a major head start with their first release in 2001. Microsoft didn’t released its Zune until late 2006. iPods are definitely more popular and outsell Zunes by a strong margin. But, that doesn’t mean Zune’s don’t have a loyal fanbase. I have one and love it. I’ve only used an iPod a few times and have never owned one. So, I can’t really compare the two. I am an Apple lover for life and would love to get my hands on an iPod. But, I had a chance to buy a first-gen Zune pretty cheap a while back and couldn’t pass it up. What I love most about the Zune is the software. iTunes is ok and they are getting better. But, the Zune had me at hello. The device just works perfectly with the application. The thing that bugs me is that Microsoft has refused to develop its software for Macs. There is even a petition online asking Microsoft to make its software available for Macs. Apple has made iTunes available for both Mac and PC. Why wont you follow suit Microsoft? But, there is some light at the end of the tunnel. There is news coming out that Microsoft is developing an application on the XBOX that will allow you to manage your music and even download content. This is good news to me because I own an XBOX and since the downfall of my wife’s PC, the only access to a computer I have is my iMac. So I haven’t really even picked up my Zune in months.

~ by Chris on January 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
